top of page
  • Writer's picturegraham chalfant

My Experience with Intermittent Fasting

Updated: Jan 24, 2023

Intermittent fasting is one of the most popular methods for improving health and wellness, and for good reason - there are many benefits associated with this practice. In this article, I will share my experience with intermittent fasting.



A person who intermittently fasts only eats during certain hours of the day. Intermittent fasting has been practiced for thousands of years (1, 2). From an evolutionary standpoint, intermittent fasting makes sense. Our ancestors did not have fridges full of food or grocery stores on every corner. Food was not a guarantee, and going days without food was not uncommon.


I have been intermittent fasting since 2018 and do not plan on stopping. Since I started, I have only allowed myself to consume calories within a window of 12 PM - 8 PM. This type of intermittent fast is known as the 16:8 method. There are various types of intermittent fasts, all with amazing benefits. [Healthline](3) has a great article outlining the different types of intermittent fasts.


Benefits I have observed:


1) Weight loss

Intermittent fasting helps you lose weight by burning fat for fuel instead of carbohydrates. When you deprive the body of carbohydrates for extended periods of time, your body burns fat and produces ketones (4).


Intermittent fasting also means skipping a meal, so you will eat fewer calories altogether. This was initially difficult for me. Although over time it has become very easy, and now I feel odd if I eat breakfast.


2) Fewer cravings

I find myself snacking far less throughout the day while intermittent fasting. This is due to a decrease in our hunger hormone “ghrelin.” Ghrelin levels decline when your body is using more fat for energy than carbohydrates (5).


3) Mental clarity

I would attribute my heightened focus and clarity to two things: 1) my body is not using energy to digest food. 2) Ketones (energy derived from burning fat) are a much more pure energy source for the brain.


4) Better sleep

Fasting improves sleep by reinforcing your circadian rhythm. Circadian rhythm manages many biological functions, including your sleep-wake cycle. Sunlight is the primary influence of your circadian rhythm, but food is a powerful secondary influencer (6).


Additionally, setting an eating window means that I stop eating every night before 8 PM. This means that my body has adequate time to digest my food before sleeping. Sleep experts recommend going to bed three hours after your last meal (7).


I have had excellent results from intermittent fasting. Although, it should be noted that everyone is different. Your eating window may be very different from mine. Additionally, people with specific health conditions may not benefit from fasting. So, if this post inspired you, make sure you do your research to find what works best for you!


I would highly recommend checking out this article by Dave Asprey’s company, Bulletproof if you want to learn more about intermittent fasting.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page